The Hon Dr Jim Chalmers MP Treasurer Langton Crescent Parkes ACT 2600 Australia

Email: jim.chalmers.mp@aph.gov.au

Dear Treasurer,

An Open, Transparent and Merit-Based Selection Process for the next World Bank President

We, the undersigned civil society organisations and academics, hereby request that you as the Minister responsible for Australia's engagement with the World Bank, support an open, transparent and merit-based selection process for the position of President.

In 2023, it should no longer be acceptable that a gentlemen's agreement made in 1944 determine the selection of the world's most powerful development organisations. The world is facing mounting global pressures including existential climate pressures, increasing inequality and debt distress. The World Bank is a key player in addressing many of these issues. The Bank itself is also under pressure to create an effective roadmap for reform, which will be a major challenge for a new President.

The outgoing president, David Malpass, came under pressure because his commitment to addressing the climate crisis was not clear. The US government has now nominated Ajay Banga, vice chair of General Atlantic, a private equity firm and former CEO of Mastercard. Banga has no experience in public service and no record in promoting poverty reduction or climate change mitigation and adaptation.

It is not in Australia's national interest to have another World Bank president who does not have the support of government and civil society in the Asia Pacific and globally.

Yours sincerely,

Associate Professor Susan Engel, Co-Director Future of Rights Centre, University of Wollongong

ActionAID Australia

Aid/Watch

Development Studies Association of Australia

Jubilee Australia

Dr Tom Chodor, Lecturer, Politics and International Relations, Monash University

Dr Aidan Craney, Research Fellow, La Trobe University

Dr Deborah Cummins, Director Bridging Peoples

Dr Elliot Dolan-Evans, Monash University

Dr Annabel Dulhunty, Lecturer, Crawford School of Public Policy, the Australian National University

Dr Kelly Gerard, Senior Lecturer, School of Social Sciences, University of Western Australia

Dr Samanthi J. Gunawardana, Senior Lecturer, Gender and Development, Monash University

Professor Shahar Hameiri, School of Political Science and International Studies, University of Queensland

Associate Professor Patrick Kilby Australian National University and Secretary, Development Studies Association of Australia

Dr Nadeem Malik, Senior Lecturer, Development Studies, University of Melbourne

Professor Susan K. Sell, Australian National University

Dr Kearrin Sims, Senior Lecturer, Development Studies, James Cook University

Dr Heloise Weber, University of Queensland and President, Development Studies Association of Australia

Cc: The Hon Pat Conroy MP Minister for International Development and the Pacific Email: <u>Pat.Conroy.MP@aph.gov.au</u>

> Mr Roderick Brazier A/g Deputy Secretary - Development and Multilateral Group Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Email: <u>rod.brazier@dfat.gov.au</u>

Ms Kerstin Wijeyewardene Alternate Executive Director, World Bank Email: <u>eds09@worldbank.org</u>